Celebrating Undergraduate Excellence

Wednesday, June 19, 2013 - 10:53am
Atlanta, GA -

At the conclusion of every academic year, the School of Chemistry and Biochemistry recognizes members of the undergraduate classes that have demonstrated superior scholastic achievement. In April 2013, they were recognized at the annual Georgia Tech Student Honors Luncheon and at a dinner hosted by the school for award recipients and their guests.

The guest speaker at the awards dinner was distinguished alumni Anthony J. Arduengo (B.S., 1974;  Ph.D. 1976 with Professor Ed Burgess), Saxon Professor of Chemistry at the University of Alabama. Arduengo also holds an appointment as guest professor in the Institute for Inorganic Chemistry at the Technical University Carolo Wilhemina in Braunschweig, Germany. He has authored nearly 160 scientific publications and almost 20 patents.

Funding for this dinner was provided by alumni Michael Cobb (B.S. Chemistry 1975 and Ph.D. 1980), and Atif Dabdoub (Ph.D. 1976).

The 2012–2013 undergraduate recognition awards were presented to the following students.

Hasan Khosravi (B.S. Biochemistry, 2013) was recognized with two awards.  He was awarded  the W. M. Spicer Outstanding Senior Scholarship. This $2,000 scholarship is presented to an outstanding senior undergraduate in the School of Chemistry and Biochemistry who displays excellent scholastic achievement, good citizenship and leadership qualities. He was also recognized with the University System of Georgia (USG) Outstanding Scholar Recognition Award. This award consists of Georgia State legislature recognition as a USG Outstanding Scholar for 2013. The resolution was passed as part of the annual Academic Recognition Day coordinated by the Board of Regents. Khosravi will be attending Harvard Medical School in the fall.

James Rives (B.S. Biochemistry, 2013) was presented the Anthony Arduengo III Award by Arduengo. The Anthony J. Arduengo III Scholarship is awarded to an undergraduate student who demonstrates outstanding potential for lifelong contributions to the science of chemistry, focuses interests on the study and practice of chemistry, and is involved in undergraduate research activities. The award provides $1,500 in the form of a scholarship and travel funds to attend a scientific conference. The award is supported by an endowment gift made by Anthony Arduengo. Rives will be attending Johns Hopkins University in the fall.

The Chance Family Scholarship Award was presented to John Gray. The School of Chemistry and Biochemistry presents this $1,000 scholarship to upperclassmen within the school who intend to pursue a career in chemistry. Ronald R. and Judy S. Chance sponsor the scholarship. Chance is a professor of the practice in the School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, the School of Chemistry and Biochemistry, and the Strategic Energy Institute. Gray was also the recipient of a Spicer Scholarship (see below).

Graduating seniors Ian Henrich (B.S. Biochemistry, 2013) and Kristine Mycroft (B.S. Chemistry, 2013) received the The American Institute of Chemists (AIC) Award. This award is for an outstanding chemistry student and a biochemistry student who have demonstrated leadership, ability, character, scholastic achievement and potential for advancement. The award consists of a one-year membership in AIC, a certificate and a peer-reviewed journal. Henrich’s award was for biochemistry and Mycroft represented chemistry.

Joseph Reynolds (B.S. Chemistry, 2013) received the Hypercube Scholar Award. The Hypercube Scholar Award, sponsored by Hypercube Inc., is awarded to an outstanding senior chemistry major who is planning to attend graduate school. The award consists of a commemorative plaque and a copy of the Hypercube molecular modeling/computational software.

The Undergraduate Award in Analytical Chemistry was awarded to Connor Crowley. The Division of Analytical Chemistry, American Chemical Society, sponsors this award given to the student who best displays an aptitude for a career in analytical chemistry. The award consists of a subscription to Analytical Chemistry and an honorary membership in the Division of Analytical Chemistry.

John Gray, Rachel Hutto, and Corley Price were the recipients of the W. M. Spicer Scholarship in Chemistry. The award is also in recognition of his more than forty years of service as a distinguished teacher and leader who generously and kindly served his students. Coworkers, friends and colleagues of W. M. Spicer established this award in his honor and memory. The W. M. Spicer Scholarship in Chemistry is given to outstanding rising seniors in the School of Chemistry and Biochemistry. The award consists of a $1,000 scholarship and the engraving of each recipient’s name on a bronze plaque in the school.

The Richard W. Fink Memorial Scholarship was presented to Meghna Bharucha (B.S. Biochemistry, 2013), Shanti Bhatia (B.S. Biochemistry, 2013), Pamela Chi (B.S. Biochemistry, 2013), Lisa Dinh (B.S. Biochemistry, 2013), Mahsa Hamedi (B.S. Biochemistry, 2013), Spencer Hoskyns (B.S. Biochemistry, 2013) and Michelle Vu. The Richard W. Fink Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $1,000 is given to undergraduates in the School of Chemistry and Biochemistry who have an outstanding scholastic record.

Christine Park, Lucia Chen, Yuxuan Qiu, Kyle Jacobsen and Caleb Ackermann won the William H. Eberhardt Memorial Scholarship. The prize, in the amount of $1,000, is given to undergraduates in the School of Chemistry and Biochemistry who have an outstanding scholastic record.

The School of Chemistry and Biochemistry presents the Peter B. Sherry Memorial Scholarship to undergraduates in the school who have demonstrated superior scholarship and an outstanding aptitude for a career in chemistry. The award consists of a $1,000 scholarship and the engraving of the recipients’ names on a plaque in the school. The 2012-2013 recipients were Melissa Puntkattalee, Peter Schnaak, Niti Khambhati and Deeti Pithadia.

Each year, the CRC Press Freshman Chemistry Awards are given to freshman students in the School of Chemistry and Biochemistry who have the highest overall average. The award consists of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. The award was given to Lindsay Dahora and Maeve Nagle.

The dinner was attended by the following faculty: David Jenson (M.S., 2004 and Ph.D., 2009 with Bridgette Barry), Facundo Fernandez, James “Chad” Morris, Joseph Perry and Carrie Shepler. William Baron, director of undergraduate studies hosted the event. The awards were presented by Mary Peek (Ph.D., 1995 with Loren Williams). Angus Wilkinson, associate chair, welcomed the recipients and their guests. Ms. Ashley Edwards from the Academic Programs office planned the awards dinner event.


Map of Georgia Tech

School of Chemistry & Biochemistry

901 Atlantic Drive Atlanta, GA 30332-0400

(404) 894-4002 (phone) | (404) 894-7452 (fax)